0,00 USD

Brak produktów w koszyku.

Ogłoszenia(773) 763-3343

Strona głównaNews in EnglishChicago & IllinoisTuition-free Star Scholarships are still available for eligible CPS graduates

Tuition-free Star Scholarships are still available for eligible CPS graduates


Chicago – Chicagoans who want a quality, affordable education to prepare for further college or a career should register now for the Fall 2016 semester at City Colleges of Chicago, the largest community college system in Illinois. The registration deadline for the 16-week Fall term is Monday, August 22, 2016.

City Colleges offers certificate and associate degree programs that prepare students to secure a job in a high-demand field or transfer to a four-year university, as well as free English as a Second Language (ESL) and GED high school equivalency instruction offered at 70 locations across the city.


Chicago Star Scholarships are still available to graduates of Chicago Public Schools who meet eligibility requirements. Chicago Star Scholarships provide recipients with free tuition and books as they pursue an associate degree at City Colleges. Chicago Star Scholars are also eligible for scholarships and bachelor’s degree transfer opportunities offered by four-year colleges and universities in the Star Scholarship Partnership program.

Through its College to Careers programs, City Colleges ensures students are ready for the more than 600,000 jobs coming to the Chicago region in these fast-growing fields: advanced manufacturing (Daley College), business and professional services (Harold Washington College), construction (Dawson Technical Institute at Kennedy-King College), culinary and hospitality (Washburne Culinary & Hospitality Institute at Kennedy-King College), healthcare (Malcolm X College), transportation, distribution and logistics (Olive-Harvey College), education, human and natural sciences (Truman College), and information technology (Wright College).

City Colleges has developed partnerships with 200 corporate and university partners to revamp our curriculum and facilities in these fastest-growing fields and to place more than 3,000 students in jobs or paid internships.

By completing an associate degree at City Colleges, students can save tens of thousands of dollars when they transfer to a bachelor’s degree program at a four-year college or university. City Colleges has more than 60 transfer partnerships with four-year colleges and universities, helping students seamlessly transition to bachelor’s degree programs nationwide.

Courses are offered during the day, in the evening, on weekends, and also online. For the first time, City Colleges is offering a completely online associate degree program in business, available to any Illinois resident. In-district tuition for the online degree program is available to Chicago residents well as to those who work in Chicago full-time.

New students can apply by visiting the admissions page. Search for Fall 2016 courses at all seven City Colleges locations here.

The seven City Colleges of Chicago are:
Harold Washington College – 30 E. Lake St.
Harry S Truman College – 1145 W. Wilson Ave.
Kennedy-King College – 6301 S. Halsted St.
Malcolm X College – 1900 W. Van Buren St.
Olive-Harvey College – 10001 S. Woodlawn Ave.
Richard J. Daley College – 7500 S. Pulaski Rd.
Wilbur Wright College – 4300 N. Narragansett Ave.

About City Colleges of Chicago
The City Colleges of Chicago (CCC) is the largest community college system in Illinois and one of the largest in the nation, with 5,500 faculty and staff serving 100,000 students annually at seven colleges and six satellite sites city-wide. CCC is in the midst of a Reinvention, a collaborative effort to review and revise programs and practices to ensure students leave CCC college- and career-ready. Since Chancellor Cheryl Hyman launched Reinvention, City Colleges has more than doubled both its graduation rate and number of degrees awarded annually. CCC’s College to Careers initiative partners with industry-leading companies to prepare Chicagoans for careers in growing fields.

The City Colleges of Chicago includes seven colleges: Richard J. Daley College, Kennedy-King College, Malcolm X College, Olive-Harvey College, Harry S Truman College, Harold Washington College and Wilbur Wright College. The system also oversees the Washburne Culinary Institute, the French Pastry School, two restaurants, two cafes, a banquet facility, five Child Development Centers, the Center for Distance Learning, the Workforce Academy, the public broadcast station WYCC-TV Channel 20 and radio station WKKC-FM 89.3. For more information about City Colleges of Chicago, call (773) COLLEGE or visit

(City Colleges of Chicago)

fot.Chris Todd/EPA